Applicant Details & Scoring

ARC State Program Manager Comments

Back to List of Applicants

APPLICANT

Garrett County Lighthouse, Inc.

Total Qualifying Score: 5
County (ARC Region): Yes
State (ARC Region): Yes
Q3. IRS Status: Nonprofit – 2
Q4. Parent Entity: No – 1
Q5. 2 or More Full-Time Employees : Yes (as of 12/31/2019)
Q7. Budget Level: Above $1.5 million up to $3 million – 2 (Last Fiscal Year Actual Income)
Q8. Restricted Reserves: Yes – 0
Q9. CARES Act Funding: Yes – 0
Q13. Participation by Executive: Yes


CONTACT & LOCATION INFORMATION

Garrett County Lighthouse, Inc.
Oakland, Garrett County, Maryland 21550
301-334-9126
Email
www

County (ARC Region) Garrett
State (ARC Region) Maryland


ORGANIZATIONAL & FINANCIAL INFORMATION

Q1. Mission:

The mission of Garrett County Lighthouse, Inc. is to provide personalized psychiatric rehabilitation services to those with serious and persistent mental illness through empowerment and integration into community resources while advocating for clients’ personal growth through ethical practice.

Q2. How organization aligns with ARC’s Plan & Goals:

Garrett County Lighthouse, Inc. aligns with the Appalachian Regional Commission’s five goals by improving the mental health of our community while at the same time collaborating with other community agencies to advance our community development.

Q3. IRS Filing Status: 501(c)(3)   

Q4. Unit or Chapter of Larger Organization: No

Q5. Employees:

Full-Time/Part-Time Employees: 28/7 (as of 9/1/2020)

Full-Time/Part-Time Employees: 32/7 (as of 12/31/2019)

Current Year Income/Expenses: $2167951.59/$1966867.30

Q6. Fiscal Year: July-June

Q7. Budget Level

Last Fiscal Year Income/Expenses (Actual): $1886875.16 / $1570902.94

Current Year Income/Expenses (Projected): $2167951.59 / $1966867.30

Q8. Restricted Reserves (Amount): Yes ($130,000)

Q9. CARES Act Funding (Amount): Yes ($34,575.14)
Received From: US Department of Health and Human Services   Date Received: 07/23/2020
For What Purpose(s): Provider Relief Fund Grant

Q10. Negative Impacts from COVID-19:

Due to COVID-19 our organization had to close to on-site services for 4 months. During which time we still provided meals and off-site services to clients. This caused an increase in fuel expenses as well as packaging for meals. We also had to purchase additional disinfectants, germ shields, masks, gloves, isolation gowns, etc to ensure a safe return to on-site services.  We have also had to pay salaries for staff to quarantine until they received a negative COVID test.

Q11. Top Three Concerns:
Fundraising
long-term stability
short-term stability

How Participation in Program Will Address Concerns:

With COVID-19 individuals are not as willing to support fundraisers. Our organization uses fundraising to support our client activities. We hope the program could help us address how to motivate individuals to give and help support or clients and our mission.


COHORT INSTRUCTION

Q12. Applying as a Proposed Cohort? Yes

List of Organizations in Proposed Cohort:
Archway Station
Resources for Independence

Q13. Executive Director or CEO Will Participate in the Program? Yes

Q14. Top Two Choices for Cohort Instruction:

Course #1 Choice: 1-Fundraising

Course #2 Choice: 2-Fundraising

Q15. Desired Course Schedule for Cohort Instruction:

#1 Desired Course Schedule: 1-Winter 2021 A: 5-Week Course (Jan. 25, 2021 – Feb. 28, 2021)

#2 Desired Course Schedule: 2-Winter 2021 B: 5-Week Course (Mar. 1, 2021-April 4, 2021)


APPLICATION SUBMITED BY:

Name: Amy Fike Fike, Executive Director

Application Approved by Organization Director or CEO? Yes, Approved by Executive Director/CEO

ARC State Program Managers Review
ARC State Program Managers: Please use the form below to submit your comments regarding this applicant.
(This is a read-only field displaying the name of the applicant organization you are reviewing)
(Select your name from the drop-down field above)