Applicant Details & Scoring

ARC State Program Manager Comments

Back to List of Applicants

APPLICANT

Upstate Circle of Friends

Total Qualifying Score: 7
County (ARC Region): Yes
State (ARC Region): Yes
Q3. IRS Status: Nonprofit – 2
Q4. Parent Entity:
Q5. 2 or More Full-Time Employees : Yes (as of 12/31/2019)
Q7. Budget Level: $250,001 to $1.5 million – 5 (Last Fiscal Year Actual Income)
Q8. Restricted Reserves: Yes – 0
Q9. CARES Act Funding: Yes – 0
Q13. Participation by Executive: Yes


CONTACT & LOCATION INFORMATION

Upstate Circle of Friends
Greenville, Geenville County, South Carolina 29605
864-277-5788
Email
www

County (ARC Region) Geenville
State (ARC Region) South Carolina


ORGANIZATIONAL & FINANCIAL INFORMATION

Q1. Mission:

Upstate Circle of Friends expands opportunities, enhances the Quality of life, and
empowers citizens of surrounding communities through multiple educational, recreational,
and social programs.

Q2. How organization aligns with ARC’s Plan & Goals:

Upstate Circle of Friends, for the past decade, worked with at-risk youth through various state programs, i.e. TASC (Teen After School Centers), JRT (Job Readiness Training) now renamed YES (Youth Empowerment Services) with a direct focus on building the skills of next-generation leaders while collaborating with Greenville County employers to prepare and present skill-building classes and offer hands-on paid internships.
In addition, since the devastating negative impact of COVID-19 on our low-income communities, Upstate Circle of Friends has built a collaboration with the Greenville Homeless Alliance and attempting to put together programming at the large 22 classrooms UCF Campus for the estimated 90 children living in one of the 8 motels surrounding (within 1 mile) Upstate Circle of Friends to provide guidance and support during virtual school days and a robust STEAM and Cultural based afterschool program. At the same time, offering the parents/guardians struggling to provide for their families with education, knowledge, skill-building, and job search assistance.

Q3. IRS Filing Status: 501(c)(3)   

Q4. Unit or Chapter of Larger Organization: No

Q5. Employees:

Full-Time/Part-Time Employees: 5/2 (as of 9/1/2020)

Full-Time/Part-Time Employees: 5/1 (as of 12/31/2019)

Current Year Income/Expenses: $1,112,050/$905,195

Q6. Fiscal Year: Calendar

Q7. Budget Level

Last Fiscal Year Income/Expenses (Actual): $960,237.10 / $651,079.75

Current Year Income/Expenses (Projected): $1,112,050 / $905,195

Balance Sheet

Q8. Restricted Reserves (Amount): Yes ($119,103)

Q9. CARES Act Funding (Amount): Yes ($152,800)
Received From: Greenville County CARES ACT funds   Date Received: August 2020 )$142,800) and Sep 2020 ($10,000)
For What Purpose(s): To provide hot, nutritious meals for a minimum of 100 African American senior citizens severely impacted due to COVID-19 ($142,800) and $10,000 to reimburse expenses directly related to COVID-19 safety and cleaning.

Q10. Negative Impacts from COVID-19:

Upstate Circle of Friends was scheduled to begin the TASC and YES programming geared to workforce development in our at-risk youth. The TASC was put off for 4 months. The YES program was put off to this month (October) 2020. Collaborations for space to work with at-risk youth were put on hold except for one small summer program following all COVID-19 guidelines and continues now as a virtual assistance day program.

The UCF Food Program also took a big hit due to COVID-19. When schools and rec centers were closed in March, the 10 rec centers UCF provides hot, nutrition supper meals, assuring these children in need didn’t go to bed hungry, were closed. All state funding went to the schools to provide breakfast and lunch to children 18 and under within Greenville County. However, understanding the huge food insecurity our families faced in the Greenville County food deserts, UCF reached out to several private foundations and received the funding for a mid-April to mid-June (60 days) program where over 22,000 meals were provided following COVID-19 guidelines to the households based on the children we had served, taking one worry off these struggling families. This program ended and the summer feeding program began. However, instead of the usual 1,500 children, there was an average of just 300 receiving hot, nutritious meals. In August 2020, UCF received CARES ACT funds to feed 117 low-income African American senior citizens in food deserts daily. Funding is on hand to assure meals to these 117 senior citizens through December 31st. Still, as the pandemic continues, youth programs are either on hold or being put in place with limited numbers.

Q11. Top Three Concerns:
Assuring Daily Operational Funds are there.
Receiving the funding required to move forward with programs desperately needed within our community.
Assuring funding is there for campus maintenance, i.e. $75,000 needed now to replace a building roof.

How Participation in Program Will Address Concerns:

Upstate Circle of Friends sees our participation in this program as beneficial in several ways.  First, we look forward to being introduced to the newest trends and updated data to blend with our strategic plan.  Second, with that updated plan our leadership and board will have a renewed focus to work toward.  Third, we will be accountable to show progress.  Our UCF leadership team has only so much time in the day and choices are made as to how we need to use our time.  While increasing support is vital to survival, it is at times the time needed isn’t prioritized as it should.  Having the support and guidance from the ARC team, it will keep our feet to the fire and assure we do the work needed to achieve our sustainability goals.


COHORT INSTRUCTION

Q12. Applying as a Proposed Cohort? No

Q13. Executive Director or CEO Will Participate in the Program? Yes

Q14. Top Two Choices for Cohort Instruction:

Course #1 Choice: 1-Fundraising

Course #2 Choice: 2-Long-term Financial Management

Q15. Desired Course Schedule for Cohort Instruction:

#1 Desired Course Schedule: 1-Winter 2021: 10-Week Course (Jan. 25. 2021 – Apr. 4, 2021)

#2 Desired Course Schedule: 2-Winter 2021: 10-Week Course (Jan. 25. 2021 – Apr. 4, 2021)


APPLICATION SUBMITED BY:

Name: Deloris Pinson Pinson, Founder and CEO

Application Approved by Organization Director or CEO? Yes, Approved by Executive Director/CEO

ARC State Program Managers Review
ARC State Program Managers: Please use the form below to submit your comments regarding this applicant.
(This is a read-only field displaying the name of the applicant organization you are reviewing)
(Select your name from the drop-down field above)