Applicant Details & Scoring

ARC State Program Manager Comments

Back to List of Applicants

APPLICANT

Greater Honesdale Partnership

Total Qualifying Score: 3
County (ARC Region): Yes
State (ARC Region): Yes
Q3. IRS Status: Nonprofit – 2
Q4. Parent Entity: No – 1
Q5. 2 or More Full-Time Employees : No (as of 12/31/2019)
Q7. Budget Level: Above $3 million or below $100,000 – 0 (Last Fiscal Year Actual Income)
Q8. Restricted Reserves: Yes – 0
Q9. CARES Act Funding: Yes – 0
Q13. Participation by Executive: Yes


CONTACT & LOCATION INFORMATION

Greater Honesdale Partnership
Honesdale, Wayne County, Pennsylvania 18431
570-253-5492
Email
www

County (ARC Region) Wayne
State (ARC Region) Pennsylvania


ORGANIZATIONAL & FINANCIAL INFORMATION

Q1. Mission:

Mission Statement:

Greater Honesdale Partnership works to promote, build, and invest in our community.

 

Promote all greater Honesdale and our members.

Build a flourishing community through sound communication where we can grow and evolve together while maintaining its authenticity.

Invest by continuing to attract funding on behalf of our community.

Q2. How organization aligns with ARC’s Plan & Goals:

1 & 2 As the Honesdale Borough’s economic developer GHP helps mentors, grows, and invests in the Honesdale economy by providing grant information, continued education experiences, networking, and providing skill enhancements of our local business owners and future owners.

3. GHP is in process of a downtown Honesdale revitalization plan with a consultant hired through LSA – Monroe grant money totaling $90,000. This will begin the streetscape improvements making walking and biking safer, restore business facades and create additional parking fulfilling local zoning allowing the upstair apartments to be utilized.

5.GHP is in the initial stages of building a Retail Businesss Incubator. This will provide space for up to 3 years to future business owners who need help with business plans, marketing and mentoring. This will help next generation business leaders to work in the same space collaborating and learning from one another.

Q3. IRS Filing Status: 501(c)(6)   

Q4. Unit or Chapter of Larger Organization: No

Q5. Employees:

Full-Time/Part-Time Employees: 1/0 (as of 9/1/2020)

Full-Time/Part-Time Employees: 1/0 (as of 12/31/2019)

Current Year Income/Expenses: $62125./$62125.

Q6. Fiscal Year: Calendar

Q7. Budget Level

Last Fiscal Year Income/Expenses (Actual): $52317 / $57001.99

Current Year Income/Expenses (Projected): $62125. / $62125.

Balance Sheet

Q8. Restricted Reserves (Amount): Yes ($)

Q9. CARES Act Funding (Amount): Yes ($15000.)
Received From: Wayne County Cares   Date Received: 10/23/2020
For What Purpose(s): Payroll and Expenses

Q10. Negative Impacts from COVID-19:

The GHP primarily funded through membership dues has been left financially vulnerable by the COVID-19 crisis. Many business owners are apprehensive to spend their money on a membership. The fees collected through membership accounts for $48,150 of the annual budget. As you can see losing 50 members totaling $12,500. is a quarter of our annual budget.

Our 2020 calendar had seminars and networking events scheduled for every month with Sidewalk Sales and Fireworks as minor events and Harvest & Heritage Days and Winter Wonderland as major events. We have heard from sponsors that they would like their money transferred to 2021. The money collected thus far is going towards our operating budget. We are projected to lose $7,900 in fundraising pending the cancelation of our major events.

The community tourism/business brochure distributed to rest areas from Delaware to New York, funded through a Wayne County award of $5000 is printed in February and distributed throughout the year by Getaways on Display. The printing was paid for in March of 2020 although distribution fees are incurred quarterly. As of July 27, 2020, the awarded $5000 has been rescinded by the Wayne County Tax Board due to many event cancelations.  This leaves our community vulnerable to the loss of valuable tourism.

Q11. Top Three Concerns:
I don’t know how I’m going to continue the high level of educational and discounted services normally provided due to lack of fundraising.
I’m not sure I can fulfill the promises I have made in 2019, such as being Keystone Designated due to lack of organizational financial sustainability.
Fundraising is particularly hard as I don’t want to ask business owners for any of their profits.

How Participation in Program Will Address Concerns:

As the Executive Director, I can use the information on short-term financial management, long-term financial management, mission and operations, and fundraising in every aspect of my business. Learning long-term and short term financial management will help teach me how to maintain GHP’s organizational sustainability. Sustainability helps qualify Honesdale for a Keystone Community Designation. Designation is an opportunity for targeted investment and development including the identification of specific needs for investment and/or development and the design and implementation of a strategy to address those needs.

The fundraising information can help teach me to tactfully ask for funding to continue the educational services we consistently provide. These educational opportunities will help keep our business community strong and grow.


COHORT INSTRUCTION

Q12. Applying as a Proposed Cohort? Yes

List of Organizations in Proposed Cohort:
Wayne Economic Development
The Chamber of the Northern Poconos
Wayne Pike Workforce Alliance

Q13. Executive Director or CEO Will Participate in the Program? Yes

Q14. Top Two Choices for Cohort Instruction:

Course #1 Choice: 1-Mission & Operations

Course #2 Choice: 2-Fundraising

Q15. Desired Course Schedule for Cohort Instruction:

#1 Desired Course Schedule: 1-Fall 2020: 6-Week Course (Nov. 9, 2020 – Dec. 18, 2020)

#2 Desired Course Schedule: 2-Winter 2021 A: 5-Week Course (Jan. 25, 2021 – Feb. 28, 2021)


APPLICATION SUBMITED BY:

Name: Lisa Burns Burns, Executive Director

Application Approved by Organization Director or CEO? Yes, Approved by Executive Director/CEO

ARC State Program Managers Review
ARC State Program Managers: Please use the form below to submit your comments regarding this applicant.
(This is a read-only field displaying the name of the applicant organization you are reviewing)
(Select your name from the drop-down field above)