Applicant Details & Scoring

ARC State Program Manager Comments

Back to List of Applicants

APPLICANT

Kopernik Society of Broome County Inc. DBA Kopernik Observatory & Science Center

Total Qualifying Score: 8
County (ARC Region): Yes
State (ARC Region): Yes
Q3. IRS Status: Nonprofit – 2
Q4. Parent Entity: No – 1
Q5. 2 or More Full-Time Employees : No (as of 12/31/2019)
Q7. Budget Level: $250,001 to $1.5 million – 5 (Last Fiscal Year Actual Income)
Q8. Restricted Reserves: Yes – 0
Q9. CARES Act Funding: Yes – 0
Q13. Participation by Executive: Yes


CONTACT & LOCATION INFORMATION

Kopernik Society of Broome County Inc. DBA Kopernik Observatory & Science Center
Vestal, Broome County, New York 13850
607-748-3685
Email
www

County (ARC Region) Broome
State (ARC Region) New York


ORGANIZATIONAL & FINANCIAL INFORMATION

Q1. Mission:

Kopernik’s mission is to be an innovative learning institution that promotes interdisciplinary education in the fields of Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM). It achieves this mission by interpreting scientific discoveries and research for the public and noting the effects of these on our community and lives to analyze issues and make informed decisions about our world.

Q2. How organization aligns with ARC’s Plan & Goals:

Kopernik is an informal educational facility whose focus is on STEM.  Kopernik promotes life-long learning. Kopernik classes, events and programs are for students as young as 3 years old and continue throughout a person’s lifespan. Schools utilize Kopernik’s programs to augment their classroom curriculum. Both Kopernik’s student-focused and teacher in-service programs are aligned with the soon-to-be-implemented, New York state-version of the Next Generation Science Standard (NGSS) that is currently being rolled out by New York State Education Department.

Q3. IRS Filing Status: 501(c)(3)   

Q4. Unit or Chapter of Larger Organization: No

Q5. Employees:

Full-Time/Part-Time Employees: 0/4 (as of 9/1/2020)

Full-Time/Part-Time Employees: 1/8 (as of 12/31/2019)

Current Year Income/Expenses: $480,000/$400,000

Q6. Fiscal Year: Calendar

Q7. Budget Level

Last Fiscal Year Income/Expenses (Actual): $860,504 / $244,946

Current Year Income/Expenses (Projected): $480,000 / $400,000

Q8. Restricted Reserves (Amount): Yes ($48,000)

Q9. CARES Act Funding (Amount): Yes ($29,800)
Received From: M&T Bank   Date Received: April 20, 2020
For What Purpose(s): Payroll (PPP)

Q10. Negative Impacts from COVID-19:

The COVID-19 pandemic has had a drastic effect on Kopernik’s revenue stream. 2020 income dropped over $110,000 relative to the same 8-month period during 2019, a 75% loss of revenue. By necessity, all spring school field trips were cancelled. Income from our Friday Night programs as well as group programs and events has dried up and will not return until we can safely reopen to the public.

The timing of the pandemic could not have come at a worse time. Kopernik had to close to the public in mid-March 2020 and all of our school field trips were cancelled. All private group events from scout troops, corporations and clubs were cancelled including our RocketFest and Race to the Stars fundraisers. Although Kopernik did run summer camps, they were run virtually and were essentially a break-even effort designed solely to serve the local community. Field trips, private events and our summer programs are Kopernik’s main source of revenue and gives us the reserves to last through the late fall and winter. The loss of revenue has put our finances in a challenging position.

Q11. Top Three Concerns:
When can we safely reopen to the public
Will we have enough reserves to pay our fixed costs until we can start generating revenue
Will the economy recover sufficiently so that the public will have the disposable income to spend on Kopernik programs

How Participation in Program Will Address Concerns:

I hope to receive guidance on how best to reduce costs and yet remain a viable resource to the community. I am also looking for ways to pursue new avenues of revenue generation (grants and donations).


COHORT INSTRUCTION

Q12. Applying as a Proposed Cohort? No

Q13. Executive Director or CEO Will Participate in the Program? Yes

Q14. Top Two Choices for Cohort Instruction:

Course #1 Choice: 1-Short-term Financial Management

Course #2 Choice: 2-Fundraising

Q15. Desired Course Schedule for Cohort Instruction:

#1 Desired Course Schedule: 1-Fall 2020: 6-Week Course (Nov. 9, 2020 – Dec. 18, 2020)

#2 Desired Course Schedule: 2-Winter 2021 A: 5-Week Course (Jan. 25, 2021 – Feb. 28, 2021)


APPLICATION SUBMITED BY:

Name: Andrew Deskur, Executive Director

Application Approved by Organization Director or CEO? Yes, Approved by Executive Director/CEO

ARC State Program Managers Review
ARC State Program Managers: Please use the form below to submit your comments regarding this applicant.
(This is a read-only field displaying the name of the applicant organization you are reviewing)
(Select your name from the drop-down field above)