Applicant Details & Scoring

ARC State Program Manager Comments

Back to List of Applicants

APPLICANT

Northeastern Pennsylvania Industrial Resource Center, Inc. (D/B/A NEPIRC)

Total Qualifying Score: 5
County (ARC Region): Yes
State (ARC Region): Yes
Q3. IRS Status: Nonprofit – 2
Q4. Parent Entity: No – 1
Q5. 2 or More Full-Time Employees : Yes (as of 12/31/2019)
Q7. Budget Level: Above $1.5 million up to $3 million – 2 (Last Fiscal Year Actual Income)
Q8. Restricted Reserves: Yes – 0
Q9. CARES Act Funding: Yes – 0
Q13. Participation by Executive: Yes

Northeastern Pennsylvania Industrial Resource Center, Inc. (D/B/A NEPIRC)

Total Qualifying Score: 5
County (ARC Region): Yes
State (ARC Region): Yes
Q3. IRS Status: Nonprofit – 2
Q4. Parent Entity: No – 1
Q5. 2 or More Full-Time Employees : Yes (as of 12/31/2019)
Q7. Budget Level: Above $1.5 million up to $3 million – 2 (Last Fiscal Year Actual Income)
Q8. Restricted Reserves: Yes – 0
Q9. CARES Act Funding: Yes – 0
Q13. Participation by Executive: Yes


CONTACT & LOCATION INFORMATION

Northeastern Pennsylvania Industrial Resource Center, Inc. (D/B/A NEPIRC)
Hanover Township, Luzerne County, Pennsylvania 18706
570-819-8966
Email
www

County (ARC Region) Luzerne
State (ARC Region) Pennsylvania


ORGANIZATIONAL & FINANCIAL INFORMATION

Q1. Mission:

Our Mission

NEPIRC provides customized solutions and expert guidance to clients within the manufacturing and manufacturing support sectors in order to maximize their productivity, growth and long-term viability while also raising awareness of the importance of our manufacturing sector.

 

Our Vision

We enhance and improve the quality of life in our region by ensuring the long-term success and growth of our clients, their employees and their suppliers. 

Q2. How organization aligns with ARC’s Plan & Goals:

NEPIRC provides small and mid-sized manufacturers across an 11-county community (approximately 1,000 manufacturers with over 44,000 full-time employees in total) with no-cost and low-cost informational seminars and webinars, no-cost operational and strategic assessments, and affordable technical expertise and consultative services so that they can continue to be competitive in an aggressive global economy, can maximize their profitability and long-term sustainability and, ultimately, maintain and increase the number of full-time industrial jobs within the region. NEPIRC provides expertise in areas such as Continuous Improvement, Quality Systems, Strategy, Business Growth, Cybersecurity, Advanced Manufacturing Technology and other disciplines that small and mid-sized manufacturing firms, particularly those within NEPIRC’s rural communities, would not otherwise be able to access. As such, NEPIRC fills a valuable void in the marketplace and acts as many manufacturers’ external consultant of choice. We strengthen our regional economy by ensuring that the industrial firms in our area, which constitute, on average, 11% of total employment (and, therefore, is our region’s 3rd largest employment sector), remain strong and competitive. 

Q3. IRS Filing Status: 501(c)(3)   

Q4. Unit or Chapter of Larger Organization: No

Q5. Employees:

Full-Time/Part-Time Employees: 11/1 (as of 9/1/2020)

Full-Time/Part-Time Employees: 15/2 (as of 12/31/2019)

Current Year Income/Expenses: $1757537/$1975430

Q6. Fiscal Year: July-June

Q7. Budget Level

Last Fiscal Year Income/Expenses (Actual): $2194000 / $2145500

Current Year Income/Expenses (Projected): $1757537 / $1975430

Q8. Restricted Reserves (Amount): Yes ($225000)

Q9. CARES Act Funding (Amount): Yes ($140721)
Received From: National Institute of Standards & Technology MEP Program   Date Received: June 1, 2020
For What Purpose(s): To expand our outreach to manufacturers and provide them with additional COVID-19 recovery assistance at no-cost or low-cost.

Q10. Negative Impacts from COVID-19:

COVID-19 has impacted our organization in several ways. 

First, the impact of COVID-19 upon the manufacturers we serve had a dramatic impact upon our project fees, which are payments that manufacturers make to us when they participate in our programs and/or use our technical experts. While we provide a high level of no-cost services, there are some technical services that we charge for, typically at rates that are below-market for engineers and manufacturing experts. During the COVID-19 pandemic, our project fees were down 58% when compared to that same period last year. Thus, from March through September, our revenue decreased by nearly $200,000 from what it was last year. 

Second, the impact of COVID-19 upon our state treasury negatively impacted our business as the PA Department of Community & Economic Development, upon which our organization relies for funding, cut our funding by nearly 60% for the fiscal year of July 1, 2020 through June 30, 2019. Thus, we have to find a way to function on that reduced level of state support (basically, losing about $350,000 of revenue). For an organization with a $2 million operating budget, losing $350,000 of state support and another $200,000 of industry support is very significant.

Lastly, the lingering impacts of COVID-19 upon our manufacturers is making it difficult for us to attract new grants and attract new manufacturing clients (and their revenue). It seems as if the local manufacturing community has put everything “on hold”. So, while our past 6-8 months have been tough, there is really a lull in manufacturing engagement with us right now, meaning that the future does not look that favorable either. 

Q11. Top Three Concerns:
Operating with a balanced budget so that we do not continue to experience negative cash flow.
Accomplishing our mission of serving small and mid-sized manufacturers and reaching out to them and providing them with meaningful engagements while not operating at a loss.
Attracting and retaining qualified talent, despite a difficult economic time.

How Participation in Program Will Address Concerns:

I believe that I and our CFO have a good foundation on which we can develop a future direction for this organization and allow it and the constituent manufacturers that it serves continue to thrive and grow. However, creating and implementing that plan in a vacuum is very difficult, and we do not have the resources to commit to a full-blown, high-priced consultative engagement with a 3rd party to guide us. Our CFO and I have deep, robust discussions about how to drive the organization forward – things we want to do and feel we can accomplish as leaders of the organization and leaders within the region. However, without a “sounding board” to talk these ideas through and refine them, they will rarely get past the “idea” phase. I believe that participation in this effort will allow us to refine our ideas and make real progress for NEPIRC and our region. 


COHORT INSTRUCTION

Q12. Applying as a Proposed Cohort? No

Q13. Executive Director or CEO Will Participate in the Program? Yes

Q14. Top Two Choices for Cohort Instruction:

Course #1 Choice: 1-Mission & Operations

Course #2 Choice: 2-Long-term Financial Management

Q15. Desired Course Schedule for Cohort Instruction:

#1 Desired Course Schedule: 1-Winter 2021: 10-Week Course (Jan. 25. 2021 – Apr. 4, 2021)

#2 Desired Course Schedule: 2-Winter 2021 A: 5-Week Course (Jan. 25, 2021 – Feb. 28, 2021)


APPLICATION SUBMITED BY:

Name: Eric J Esoda Esoda, President & CEO

Application Approved by Organization Director or CEO? Yes, Approved by Executive Director/CEO

ARC State Program Managers Review
ARC State Program Managers: Please use the form below to submit your comments regarding this applicant.
(This is a read-only field displaying the name of the applicant organization you are reviewing)
(Select your name from the drop-down field above)