Applicant Details & Scoring

ARC State Program Manager Comments

Back to List of Applicants

APPLICANT

Festiv-ALL Charleston, West Virginia, Inc

Total Qualifying Score: 9
County (ARC Region): Yes
State (ARC Region): Yes
Q3. IRS Status: Nonprofit – 2
Q4. Parent Entity: No – 1
Q5. 2 or More Full-Time Employees : Yes (as of 12/31/2019)
Q7. Budget Level: $250,001 to $1.5 million – 5 (Last Fiscal Year Actual Income)
Q8. Restricted Reserves: No – 1
Q9. CARES Act Funding: Yes – 0
Q13. Participation by Executive: Yes


CONTACT & LOCATION INFORMATION

Festiv-ALL Charleston, West Virginia, Inc
Charleston, Kanawha County, West Virginia 25301
304-470-0489
Email
www

County (ARC Region) Kanawha
State (ARC Region) West Virginia


ORGANIZATIONAL & FINANCIAL INFORMATION

Q1. Mission:

The mission of FestivALL Charleston is to create, produce and present vibrant arts experiences and entertainment opportunities and serve as a catalyst for others in the community to do the same.

Q2. How organization aligns with ARC’s Plan & Goals:

FestivALL aligns with several of the aforementioned goals by:

  • FestivALL helps create a lively city environment where entrepreneurs, artists and families want to visit, live, work and play. It’s become a time for homecomings, reunions and inviting friends to visit.
  • The arts are an essential part of Charleston’s identity and FestivALL showcases Charleston as a unique and desirable place to visit, contributing to the financial growth of artists and area businesses. Each summer FestivALL brings in an estimated $1.5 million in local spending, by residents and attendees from 17+ states.
  • FestivALL provides educational opportunities for young people such as the Neighborhood Arts Program (including Ticket Town,  Art-for-ALL Kids’ Juried Art Exhibition, and the Children’s Art Fair), and summer internships, as well as informative panels and seminars for adults.

Q3. IRS Filing Status: 501(c)(3)   

Q4. Unit or Chapter of Larger Organization: No

Q5. Employees:

Full-Time/Part-Time Employees: 2/1 (as of 9/1/2020)

Full-Time/Part-Time Employees: 2/1 (as of 12/31/2019)

Current Year Income/Expenses: $360,000/$275,000

Q6. Fiscal Year: October-September

Q7. Budget Level

Last Fiscal Year Income/Expenses (Actual): $534,541 / $534438

Current Year Income/Expenses (Projected): $360,000 / $275,000

Balance Sheet

Q8. Restricted Reserves (Amount): No ($)

Q9. CARES Act Funding (Amount): Yes ($33,630)
Received From: SBA and WV Department of Arts Culture and History   Date Received:
For What Purpose(s): Operating Expenses

Q10. Negative Impacts from COVID-19:

Programming & Logistics:

The current health crisis and stay-at-home order in effect has prompted our organization to reimagine what our signature event, FestivALL 2020, can look like. FestivALL is cherished for the unique experiences it provides and for the spotlight it shines on our community’s artists. FestivALL remains active in its mission to create and sustain a community that is rich in arts experiences and opportunities which stimulates the local economy. We are here to provide these things to our artists, partners, audience and new audiences as we pivot our programming to a safe and impactful, virtual manner.

Staff and committees have curated a dynamic and engaging 15 days of virtual programming to be premiered during our originally scheduled dates – June 14-28. All FestivALL-produced content will be provided to the public at no charge. Unlike prior years, FestivALL will not receive earned income (ticket sales, booth fees, etc.) to help offset the expenses of event production and management. With so many facing difficult financial times, FestivALL remains committed to one of its core values: providing meaningful arts and entertainment experiences at low-to-no cost to attendees. In 2019, 76% of FestivALL events were free to attend, up from 2018, and will continue to rise in 2020.

Traditionally planned to span 4 days, FestivALL Fall 2020 has quickly become robust in the hopes that with October comes the opportunity for in-person fellowship. Due to the sudden and devastating cancellations of so many locally produced and hosted events, many partners have opted to reschedule their event(s) for the fall. To accommodate their request, we are extending FestivALL Fall to at least 9 days – providing what is hopefully a catalyst in the journey to some semblance of normalcy. This would make our October event the same size as a traditional FestivALL (before we extended to 15 days in 2019).

Financials & Operations:

FestivALL’s fiscal year runs October 1 – September 30th and our organization operates on a cash basis. These two facts are integral to consider when reviewing the budget portion in Part V. This timetable means that a FestivALL Fall in a same calendar year as a June festival is included in the forthcoming fiscal year for our organization. As a result of rescheduling several of our larger in-person performances like Dance FestivALL and Air Play, our FY20 budget reflects $30,200 in restricted income that we’ve received but will be deferred to FY21 (October 2020-September 2021). In addition to deferred income and lost earned revenue, decrease in corporate sponsorships and foundation support gives cause for concern for this year and the upcoming year(s).

Q11. Top Three Concerns:
COVID-19 impact on financials for the next 5-10 years
Businesses being more conservative with sponsoring/local businesses closing
COVID-19 prohibiting in-person events well in to 2021

How Participation in Program Will Address Concerns:

Through the participation in Long-Term Financial Strategies workshop, it is my hope to gain insight on how to lay groundwork now to aid in sustainability: best practices, etc. 


COHORT INSTRUCTION

Q12. Applying as a Proposed Cohort? Yes

List of Organizations in Proposed Cohort:
Capitol Market

Q13. Executive Director or CEO Will Participate in the Program? Yes

Q14. Top Two Choices for Cohort Instruction:

Course #1 Choice: 1-Long-term Financial Management

Course #2 Choice: 2-Long-term Financial Management

Q15. Desired Course Schedule for Cohort Instruction:

#1 Desired Course Schedule: 1-Fall 2020: 11-Week Course (Nov. 9, 2020 -Jan. 24, 2021)

#2 Desired Course Schedule: 2-Winter 2021: 10-Week Course (Jan. 25. 2021 – Apr. 4, 2021)


APPLICATION SUBMITED BY:

Name: Maria Belcher Belcher, Executive Director

Application Approved by Organization Director or CEO? Yes, Approved by Executive Director/CEO

ARC State Program Managers Review
ARC State Program Managers: Please use the form below to submit your comments regarding this applicant.
(This is a read-only field displaying the name of the applicant organization you are reviewing)
(Select your name from the drop-down field above)