Applicant Details & Scoring

ARC State Program Manager Comments

Back to List of Applicants

APPLICANT

Garrard Arts

Total Qualifying Score: 3
County (ARC Region): Yes
State (ARC Region): Yes
Q3. IRS Status: Nonprofit – 2
Q4. Parent Entity: No – 1
Q5. 2 or More Full-Time Employees : No (as of 12/31/2019)
Q7. Budget Level: Above $3 million or below $100,000 – 0 (Last Fiscal Year Actual Income)
Q8. Restricted Reserves: Yes – 0
Q9. CARES Act Funding: Yes – 0
Q13. Participation by Executive: Yes


CONTACT & LOCATION INFORMATION

Garrard Arts
Lancaster, Garrard County, Kentucky 40444
859-948-6988
Email
www

County (ARC Region) Garrard
State (ARC Region) Kentucky


ORGANIZATIONAL & FINANCIAL INFORMATION

Q1. Mission:

Awareness of Arts

Reaching artists with opportunities

Teaching visual, performing, literary, and cultural arts

Serving the community in artistic capacity

Q2. How organization aligns with ARC’s Plan & Goals:

We offer sale opportunities both in our gift shop and through online venues to our artists enabling them to supplement their incomes.  Currently we have 50 plus artists exhibiting for sale in our gift shop.  Beyond  providing a venue for unique shopping  we also  offer instruction to help enrich the  skills of the artist so that they may improve their craft.  Our building is on the National Historic Registry we  serve as the local tourist information center.   In conjunction with local businesses and our chamber of commerce we work to promote the uniqueness of our community.

Q3. IRS Filing Status: 501(c)(3)   

Q4. Unit or Chapter of Larger Organization: No

Q5. Employees:

Full-Time/Part-Time Employees: 0/0 (as of 9/1/2020)

Full-Time/Part-Time Employees: 0/0 (as of 12/31/2019)

Current Year Income/Expenses: $20700/$19752

Q6. Fiscal Year: Calendar

Q7. Budget Level

Last Fiscal Year Income/Expenses (Actual): $14620 / $11703

Current Year Income/Expenses (Projected): $20700 / $19752

Q8. Restricted Reserves (Amount): Yes ($11000)

Q9. CARES Act Funding (Amount): Yes ($6000)
Received From: US Small Business Administration   Date Received: 6/2020
For What Purpose(s): operating funds

Q10. Negative Impacts from COVID-19:

Because of the initial closing we were forced to close our gift shop, unable to hold in person classes and some artists were forced to leave their studios due to person financial situation. all of these are income sources to maintain and operate the art center.  Since reopening we have limited foot traffic in our gift shop and many customers are reluctant to go into stores and our attempts at virtual marketing have had minimal results.  We still have 2 vacant artists studios which we have been unable to rent due to the current economic situation.   paid classes are limited due to Covid concerns. during this time our utilities, maintenance , insurance and mortgage expenses remain constant, causing a significant deficit in cash flow.

Q11. Top Three Concerns:
Financial
Staffing
Marketing

How Participation in Program Will Address Concerns:

I want to learn a better way to market our center.  To help us better serve the community and remain financially stable for continued growth.

We purchase our building only a short  year ago and had our grand opening in October 2019.  We were on a growth path which has been totally derailed by the Covid pandemic.  We are struggling to get back on track so as to better serve those we are committed to.


COHORT INSTRUCTION

Q12. Applying as a Proposed Cohort? No

Q13. Executive Director or CEO Will Participate in the Program? Yes

Q14. Top Two Choices for Cohort Instruction:

Course #1 Choice: 1-Fundraising

Course #2 Choice: 2-Mission & Operations

Q15. Desired Course Schedule for Cohort Instruction:

#1 Desired Course Schedule: 1-Fall 2020: 11-Week Course (Nov. 9, 2020 -Jan. 24, 2021)

#2 Desired Course Schedule: 2-Winter 2021 A: 5-Week Course (Jan. 25, 2021 – Feb. 28, 2021)


APPLICATION SUBMITED BY:

Name: Bobbie Gayle Lewis Lewis, Center Dirrector

Application Approved by Organization Director or CEO? Yes, Approved by Executive Director/CEO

ARC State Program Managers Review
ARC State Program Managers: Please use the form below to submit your comments regarding this applicant.
(This is a read-only field displaying the name of the applicant organization you are reviewing)
(Select your name from the drop-down field above)